Discussion on the Draft 5th National STI Policy

Organised by DST-Centre for Policy Research at the Centre for Society and Policy, Indian Institute of Science
       Date: 24th January 2021                                               Time: 4:15 PM – 7:00 PM

Open Science – The Way Forward for India

Time: 4:15 PM to 5:15 PM 

Click here to Join the Meeting 

Prof. Rajesh Tandon

Prof. Rajesh Tandon is an internationally acclaimed leader and practitioner of participatory research and development. He is Founder-President of Participatory Research in Asia (PRIA), a global centre for participatory research & training since 1982. He is also Co-Chair of the UNESCO Chair on Community Based Research and Social Responsibility in Higher Education since 2012. He also heads the Forum for Indian Development Corporation (FIDC) as its chairperson.

Prof. Amitabh Joshi

Prof. Amitabh Joshi is a Professor at JNCASR Bangalore, a J. C. Bose National Fellow and the Editor-of-Publications, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore. He is also a Founding Member, and Member, Executive Council of Indian Society of Evolutionary Biologists.

Prof. Sudeshna Sarkar

Prof. Sudeshna Sarkar is a Professor at the Computer Science & Engineering Department and the Head of Centre of Excellence in Artificial Intelligence at IIT Kharagpur. Her broad topics of interest span different areas of Artificial intelligence, Machine Learning and Natural Language Processing.


Fostering Research and Innovation: The Road towards Self Reliance

Time: 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM 

Click here to Join the Meeting 

Prof. Rishikesha T. Krishnan

Prof. Rishikesha Krishnan is Director and Professor of Strategy at the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (IIM B). He was earlier Director of IIM Indore. He held the Jamuna Raghavan Chair in Entrepreneurship at IIMB from 2007 to 2010. His main areas of interest are strategy and innovation. He has been listed in the Thinkers50 India list of most influential management thinkers from India.

Prof. Navakanta Bhat

Prof. Navakanta Bhat is the Chairperson, Centre for Nano Science and Engineering at IISc Bangalore. He was awarded the Infosys Prize 2018 in Engineering and Computer Science.

Dr. Tabassum Jamal

Dr. Tabassum Jamal has worked as Chief Scientist at CSIR National Institute of Science Technology and Development Studies (NISTADS). Her long experience with CSIR-NISTADS has contributed significantly in the area of Technology and Social Change.

Dr. Radha Rangarajan

Dr. Radha Rangarajan is the Chief Scientific Officer at HealthCube, responsible for product development, clinical validation and regulatory affairs. She has almost two decades of R&D experience in industry and academia. She was awarded the FICCI Award of Excellence-Women in R&D in 2019. She was selected for the “Champions of Change” initiative of Prime Minister Modi and the NITI Aayog in 2017.

Discussion on the Draft 5th National STI Policy