Programme: Joint workshop on ‘Science Technology and Innovation Policy for Transformative Change’

Day 1 (18 Feb., 2021)

9:00 – 9:15  GMT

14:30 – 14:45  IST

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION

 

Dr. Marion Clarke, Research Unit Manager, SPRU, University of Sussex, UK

Prof. T. A. Abinandanan, Coordinator DST-Centre for Policy research, IISc Bangalore, India

9.15 – 10.15  GMT

14:45 – 15:45  IST

PLENARY I : STI POLICY: PERSPECTIVES FROM INDIA AND TIPC

9:15 – 9: 45  GMT

14:45 – 15:15  IST

INDIA’S 5th NATIONAL STI POLICY: AT A GLANCE & PROCESS OF PARTICIPATORY POLICYMAKING
Dr. Akhilesh Gupta, Head STIP Secretariat, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India

9:45 – 10:00  GMT

15:15 – 15:35  IST

TRANSFORMATIVE INNOVATION POLICY CONSORTIUM: MAIN OUTCOMES OF TIPC EXPERIMENTS IN 2020

 Dr. Matias Ramirez, Senior Lecturer, SPRU, University of Sussex, UK

 Christina Miariti, Programme co-Director, TIPC

10:00 – 10:15  GMT

15:35 – 15:45  IST

OPEN-FLOOR DISCUSSION

10:15 – 10:45  GMT

15:45 – 16:15  IST

FLASH TALKS BY STI POLICY RESEARCHERS

BREAK

11.00 – 11.55  GMT

16:30 – 17:25  IST

PLENARY II : HISTORICAL OUTLOOK INTO STI POLICY IN INDIA AND IN THE WORLD

11:00 – 11:20  GMT

16:30 – 16:50  IST

INTERSECTORAL CONVERGENCE OF TECHNOLOGIES FOR SDGs

Prof. Shubhini A. Saraf, Coordinator DST-Centre for Policy research, BBAU Lucknow, India

11:20 – 11:40  GMT

16:50 – 17:10  IST

THREE FRAMES OF INNOVATION POLICY

Prof. Johan Schot, Academic Director, Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC)

11:40 – 11:55  GMT

17:10 – 17:25  IST

OPEN-FLOOR DISCUSSION

11:55 – 12:00  GMT

17:25 – 17:30  IST

CLOSING AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

 

Day 2 (19 Feb., 2021)

9:00 – 9:15  GMT

14:30 – 14:45  IST

WELCOME TO THE SECOND DAY

Prof. Jeremy Hall, Professor and Director at SPRU – Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, UK 

9.15 – 10.15  GMT

14:45 – 15:45  IST

PLENARY III: STI POLICY IN GLOBAL SOUTH

9:15 – 9: 35  GMT

14:45 – 15:05  IST

STI POLICY FOR DEVELOPMENT IN SPRU: PAST AND PRESENT
Dr. Adrian Ely, Reader in Technology and Sustainability, SPRU, University of Sussex, UK

9:35 – 9:55  GMT

15:05 – 15:25  IST

DATA GOVERNANCE AND EQUITY: AN INDIAN PERSPECTIVE

Prof. Anjula Gurtoo, Chairperson, Centre for Society and Policy, IISc Bangalore, India

9:55 – 10:15  GMT

15:25 – 15:45  IST

OPEN-FLOOR DISCUSSION

10:15 – 10:45  GMT

15:45 – 16:15  IST

FLASH TALKS BY STI POLICY RESEARCHERS

BREAK

11:00 – 11:45  GMT

16:30 – 17:15  IST

THEMATIC GROUP DISCUSSIONS

11:45 – 12:00  GMT

17:15 – 17:30  IST

CLOSING & THANKS

CLOSED SESSION

12:15 – 13:15  GMT

17:45 – 18:45  IST

EXECUTIVE MEETING

FLASH TALKS

Day 1 (18 Feb., 2021)
NAME

Dr. Imogen Wade, Research Fellow in Transformative Innovation, SPRU, University of Sussex 

Dr. Venkat Nadella, Post-doctoral Policy Fellow, DST-CPR-Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Ms Yasemin Aslan, PhD scholar, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex 

Dr. Nimita Pandey, Post-doctoral Policy Fellow, Office of the Principal Scientific Advisor to the GoI and UNESCO New Delhi

Ms Nora Nedge, PhD Scholar, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex  

TITLE
Implementing transformative innovation policies across geographical contexts: TIPC in South Africa, Sweden and the European Union
Financing Science, Technology and Innovation: Lessons from Polycentric System of Governance
A Novel Index Knowledge Triangle: The Entrepreneurial and Innovative University Index of Turkey
Gender Equity and Inclusion in STI: Towards Institutional Transformation
Investing in Science, Technology and Innovation: Learning from a complimentary approach piloted in East Africa
Day 2 (19 Feb., 2021)
Dr. Suchiradipta Bhattacharjee, Senior Policy Fellow, DST-CPR Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Dr. Alexandra Boni, INGENIO (CSIC-UPV), Universitat Politècnica de València

Dr. Mansimran Khokhar, Senior Scientist D, DST-CPR Panjab University, Chandigarh

Dr. Joshua Moon, Research Fellow, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex 

Dr. Saumya Pathak, Post-doctoral Policy Fellow. DST-CPR BBAU Lucknow University
Looking at India’s climate change initiatives in agriculture through an innovation systems lens

Evaluating transformative innovation policies in a formative way

Public-Private Partnerships in STI: Key to Multi-stakeholders Participation in STI

Fear and Apathy in Implementation: Learning the lessons of learning lessons for epidemic preparedness 

Internationalisation of Indian Standard Medicine: Strengthening Patent Regime, Strategies and Modulation of Policy

Thematic Group discussions (Break-out rooms)

  • Conceptualising STI Policy: Global context
  • STI Policy for Transformative Change
  • Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • STI Governance Developmental Context
  • STI roadmaps for the SDGs
  • Open Science and Science Communication
  • Implementation and Evaluation of STI Policy
  • Inclusivity and Equity in STI

Reports

  1. Sheth BP, Basha CB and Roy I. Workshop Report on Science, Technology and Innovation Policy Research. Current Science 2018; Vol 118 [Accepted for publication]
  1. Reddy M, Basha CB. Data-Collection Methodology for R&D Statistics – Indian Scenario and International Comparison. 2017. Report submitted to Policy Research Cell, DST, India
  1. Rani M T, Madhan M, Arunachalam S, Abinandanan T A. Chemistry research in India as seen from InCites 2006-2015. Report submitted to Policy Research Cell, DST, India 
  1. Rani M T, Madhan M, Arunachalam S, Abinandanan T A. Engineering research in India: An analysis based on papers indexed in InCites for the period 2006-2015. Report submitted to Policy Research Cell, DST, India
  1. Rani M T, Madhan M, Arunachalam S, Abinandanan T A. Materials Science Research in India: An analysis based on papers indexed in InCites for the period 2006-2015. Report submitted to Policy Research Cell, DST, India
  1. Pandey P. EU-India Meeting on Advanced Biofuels. New Delhi 2018, Report submitted to Biofuels Working Group, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Government of India.

Research Articles

  1. Arunachalam S, Madhan M. Adopting ORCID as a unique identifier will benefit all involved in scholarly communication. The National Medical Journal of India 2016; Vol 29, No. 4, pp. 227–234.

http://www.nmji.in/temp/NatlMedJIndia294227-6319386_014519.pdf

 

  1. Muthu M, Kimidi SS, Gunasekaran S, Arunachalam S (2016) Should Indian researchers pay to get their work published? Current Science 2017; Vol 112, No. 4, pp. 703-713.

http://eprints.iisc.ernet.in/54926/1/Post-print_APC_paper.pdf

 

  1. Arunachalam, S. and Madhan, M. and Gunasekaran, S. Chemistry research in India: making progress, but not rapidly. Current Science 2017; Vol 112, No. 7, pp. 1330-1339. http://www.currentscience.ac.in/Volumes/112/07/1330.pdf
  1. Madhan M, Gunasekaran S, Arunachalam S. Evaluation of research in India: Are we doing it right? Indian Journal of Medical Ethics, Published online on March 23, 2018. DOI: 10.20529/IJME.2018.024

http://ijme.in/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/20180323_evaluation_of_research.pdf

 

  1. Subbiah Arunachalam. Social Justice in Scholarly Publishing: Open Access Is the Only Way. The American Journal of Bioethics 2017: Vol 17, No. 10, pp. 15-17, DOI: 10.1080/15265161.2017.1366194

http://dst.sciencecentral.in/36/3/UAJB_A_1366194-Postprint.pdf

 

  1. Francis Jayakanth and Muthu Madhan. Open Access for Engineers and Engineering. IEEE India Info 2017; Vol. 12, No. 4, pp. 53-57.

http://sites.ieee.org/indiacouncil/files/2018/01/p53-p57.pdf

 

  1. Chagun Basha. Mapping Indian National STI to Garner 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Proceedings of RIS-ITEC Capacity Building Programme on Science Diplomacy, New Delhi 2017: pp 43-46.

http://www.ris.org.in/itec-programme-science-diplomacy

 

  1. Pandey P, Desai P.N, Chaturvedi S. Towards a Global TA. [Accepted for publication, KIT Scientific Publishing, Germany 2018]
  1. Pandey P, Dutt. U. RRI’s Commitment to Care and Vulnerabilities of Agricultural Systems: A Case of Rice Straw Burning in India. [Manuscript under review for Science, Technology and Society, Sage Publication 2018]
  1. Pandey P. What Values Drive Innovation? A Socio-Cultural Analysis of Academia-Industry Interaction for Nanobiotechnology in India. [Paper peer-reviewed and accepted for presentation in Globelics conference 23-25 October 2018, Accra, Ghana]

 

  1. Pandey P, Valkenburg G. All we want is to get rid of the straw’: How Biofuel Policies Need to Take Account of Different Visions of Biomass. [Under review for Energy Policy]